Here we go again…

Untitled design-20

It’s been around 4 months since we had our initial speech therapist assessment for the twins  after our health visitor expressed concerns on their delayed speech, which I explained more about in my previous blog/video.

Yesterday, was our long awaited paediatrics appointment, we were given two separate slots 9.30 & 10.30 one for each twin, myself, the boys dad and also my sister came along to watch one of the twins while we were in the appointment with the other. We must have been the first appointment of the day as the place was pretty much completely empty and luckily didn’t have to wait long before the Doctor came out and called for both of the twins, I asked which one she wanted first and she just said to bring them both, I found this a bit odd, why give them separate times if you’re going to see them together?

Anyway, she had the 30 page forms, that I had filled in for both twins, along with some paper work and there were toys and things for the boys to do. Verifying lots of questions and updating on how the twins had been doing since I filled in the paperwork 4 months prior and couldn’t help but think “here we go again…” the same story just different people.

I explained about the speech therapy and she was surprised that we were having to go private and that we weren’t offered any through the NHS. We talked about their different personalities and how we felt that they were beginning to progress and show more signs of communicating, but at a slow pace.

The ‘assessment’ then began, I was told that it would be really in depth and to prepare for the appointment to take a while, but to be honest I was rather disappointed by the lack of depth. She had a case with games in and we sat the boys at the little table, Jude began with putting shapes in to the right places and Luca had to put pins into holes on a board (I have no idea of the correct term for this game!) Luca was much more interested in putting them in a cup than he was the board, although he did attempt to do a few. Jude did well and managed to get a couple of the shapes in after trial and error but both got easily bored.

They then swapped, Jude straight away understood what he had to do but I don’t feel like Luca got enough time with the shapes to give it a real go. After that apart from playing with a few toys I don’t feel as if she assessed them physically or interacted with them much after that. We went back to answering more questions and then doing their height, weight and checking over their bodies.

The conclusion of the appointment began with her saying “well my full assessment has been limited due to the lack of communication”…I’m sorry, did you miss the memo, as that’s the whole reason we’re here!? Don’t get me wrong she was a lovely Doctor, but her choice of phrase was completely wrong. She continued to talk about the fact that in some areas they are around a 12 month age but she can clearly see they are physically able for their age.

Where do we go from here? Well we are starting with blood tests which can be done ASAP, to see if its genetic. Then the twins will be getting a full week assessment to see various different therapists in 6 months time.

I purposely didn’t get my hopes up as I thought this would be the case, back to the waiting game, here we go again…TBC.

 

Leave a Reply

